Government Rollout Digital Literacy Programme

The government is in the process of distribution of over 12 000 devices to 150 public primary schools this week as the pilot for the Digital Literacy Programme kicks off. The distribution began on 4th April, 2016 with an initial delivery to four primary schools and is earmarked to end on 14th May.

The pilot schools and schedule of delivery can be accessed on:

The devices will be used for teaching and learning by pupils in primary schools across the country. The 150 schools earmarked under Proof of Concept (POC) phase has the two bidders (Moi University and JP Couto and Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT) and Positivo BGH) demonstrate their capability to distribute and install the devices to all public primary schools in the country come July, 2016.